Select Page

KelRideWeather-ProofSmart Shuttle

Travel Autonomously from A to B within Kelheim.

What will mobility look like in the future? It is a difficult thing to predict with any certainty. What is certain, however, is that thanks to innovative research projects, the future has already started in today’s world. One research project based on high-tech forms of transportation is the KelRide project. What lies behind it is described in detail on these pages.

KelRide in a nutshell.

KelRide is a research project...

funded by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) as part of the “Digitalization and Artificial Intelligence in Mobility” action plan. KelRide started in March 2021 and will be fully implemented in the Kelheim district by December 2023.

The aim of the project is...

…to integrate an autonomous on-demand ridepooling service into the public transportation network, which can be operated in all weather conditions. Weather-independent operation in particular still poses major hurdles for autonomous vehicles.

KEXI is the on-demand transportation service that has been in place in the Kelheim district since July 2020. It...

…forms the framework for the practical implementation of the sponsored KelRide project. As a result, a mixed KEXI fleet consisting of autonomous and conventional vehicles will be in operation at the end of the project period. In the first instance, a third conventional vehicle will reinforce operation of KEXI beginning in July 2021. Then, from July 2022, autonomous vehicles will gradually be integrated into on-demand operations.

4

All-weather-proof

Improving the weather resistance of autonomous vehicles is an important aspect that the KelRide research project has set as its goal.

Currently, adverse weather conditions, such as heavy snowfall, rain, or fog still severely limit the mobility options of highly automated autonomous vehicles.

First of all, the KelRide project will concern itself with the extent to which existing sensor technologies and software solutions for vehicle control and fleet management can guarantee all-weather capability.

This novel system will initially be used in on-demand transportation in the Kelheim district. The knowledge gained in the KelRide project will form a blueprint for autonomous forms of mobility in Germany and around the world.

On-Demand transportation

The KelRide project is pursuing two research goals. One of them is the efficient integration of autonomous on-demand services into local public transportation. KEXI on-demand transportation is a demand-based form of transportation, which means that the service is not tied to a schedule. Rather, people can order vehicles when they need them.

With this type of transportation, vehicles do not operate according to a fixed route and within a rigid schedule. The operation is flexible according to customer demand. Users can book their rides individually via the KEXI Kelheim app or by phone at +49 (0) 800 999800.

If several trip requests occur at the same time, the system bundles the trips in the background. Thus, effective operation can occur.

The KelRide project represents the first time in Germany that autonomous vehicles can also be booked on a demand-based basis. The aim is to implement extensive operation with dynamically optimized routing.

The KelRide consortium

In the KelRide project, six partners coming from industry, the public sector, and research will for the first time integrate an autonomous and weatherproof ridepooling solution into the existing public transportation system in Germany.

The district of Kelheim provides the environment to carry out operations.

The technology company EasyMile is providing its innovative EZ10 shuttles for the implementation of autonomous on-demand transportation.

The consulting firm P3 Group is responsible for the project management of the consortium and is developing a plan to realize the scaling of KelRide in Germany and around the world.

The Technical University of Berlin is simulating mobility behavior in the Kelheim district using MATSim agent-based traffic simulation.

A technology platform from Via enables highly efficient and flexible on-demand transportation systems that allow seamless and efficient route planning, booking, and fleet management.

TÜV Rheinland is evaluating methods for the system's testability, conducting all tests for planned road approval, and supporting communication with approval authorities.

5

Seite wählen

KelRideWeather-ProofSmart Shuttle

Autonom von A nach B innerhalb Kelheims.

Wie sieht der Verkehr der Zukunft aus? Eine sichere Vorhersage fällt schwer. Was aber gewiss ist: Durch innovative Forschungs­projekte beginnt die Zukunft schon heute. Eines dieser Forschungs­projekte zu hochtechnologischen Fortbewegungs­sformen ist das Projekt KelRide. Was dahinter steckt stellen wir auf diesen Seiten ausführlich dar.

KelRide auf den Punkt.

KelRide ist ein Forschungsprojekt...

…das durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) im Rahmen des Aktionsplans „Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz in der Mobilität“ gefördert wird.

KelRide startete im März 2021 und wird bis Dezember 2023 im Landkreis Kelheim umgesetzt.

Das Projekt hat zum Ziel...

…einen autonomen On-Demand Ridepooling-Dienst, der bei allen Wetterlagen betrieben werden kann, in das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz zu integrieren. Vor allem ein wetterunabhängiger Betrieb stellt die autonomen Fahrzeuge noch vor große Hürden.

Der seit Juli 2020 im Landkreis Kelheim bestehende On-Demand Verkehr KEXI...

…bildet den Rahmen für die praktische Umsetzung des Förderprojekts KelRide. So wird am Ende der Projektlaufzeit eine gemischte KEXI-Flotte, bestehend aus autonomen und konventionellen Fahrzeugen, im Einsatz sein. Zunächst verstärkt ab Juli 2021 ein drittes konventionelles Fahrzeug den KEXI-Betrieb.

4

All-weather-proof

Die Verbesserung der Wetterbeständigkeit der autonomen Fahrzeuge ist ein wichtiger Aspekt, den sich das Forschungsprojekt KelRide zum Ziel gesetzt hat.

Derzeit schränken widrige Wetterbedingungen, wie beispielsweise starker Schneefall, Regen oder Nebel, das Mobilitätsangebot der hochautomatisierten, autonomen Fahrzeuge noch stark ein.

Das Projekt KelRide wird sich erstmals damit beschäftigen, inwieweit bereits existierende Sensortechnologien und Softwarelösungen zur Fahrzeugsteuerung und zum Flottenmanagement eine Allwettertauglichkeit garantieren können.

Dieses neuartige System kommt im On-Demand Verkehr des Landkreises Kelheim erstmals zum Einsatz. Die in dem KelRide-Projekt gewonnenen Erkenntnisse bilden eine Blaupause für autonome Mobilitätsformen in Deutschland und weltweit.

On-Demand Verkehr

Das Projekt KelRide verfolgt zwei Forschungsziele. Eines davon ist die effiziente Integration autonomer On-Demand Dienste in den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr. Beim On-Demand Verkehr KEXI handelt es sich um eine nachfragebasierte Verkehrsform, das bedeutet, dass der Service nicht an einen Zeitplan gebunden ist, sondern dass man die Fahrzeuge bestellen kann, wenn man sie braucht.

Bei dieser Verkehrsart fahren die Fahrzeuge nicht nach einer festgelegten Route und innerhalb eines starren Zeitplans. Der Betrieb ist flexibel auf die Nachfrage der Kundinnen und Kunden ausgerichtet. Die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können ihre Fahrten individuell in der KEXI Kelheim App oder per Telefon unter 0800 999800 buchen.

Sollten mehrere Fahrtanfragen zur gleichen Zeit auftreten, bündelt das System im Hintergrund die Fahrten. Somit kann ein effektiver Betrieb stattfinden.

Mit dem Projekt KelRide sind erstmals in Deutschland auch autonome Fahrzeuge nachfragebasiert buchbar. Ziel ist es, einen flächendeckendenBetrieb mit dynamisch optimierter Routenführung durchzuführen.

Das KelRide-Konsortium

Im Projekt KelRide werden sechs Partner aus Industrie, öffentlicher Hand und Forschung erstmals in Deutschland eine autonome und wetterfeste Ridepooling-Lösung in den bestehenden öffentlichen Personennahverkehr integrieren.

Der Landkreis Kelheim stellt das Umfeld zur Durchführung des Realbetriebs bereit.

Das Technologieunternehmen EasyMile stellt seine innovativen EZ10 Shuttles für die Durchführung des autonomen On-Demand Verkehrs zur Verfügung.

Die Unternehmensberatung P3 Group zeichnet für das Projektmanagement des Konsortiums verantwortlich und erarbeitet zudem ein Verwertungskonzept zur Skalierung von KelRide in Deutschland und der Welt.

Die Technische Universität Berlin simuliert das Mobilitätsverhalten im Landkreis Kelheim unter Einsatz der agenten-basierten Verkehrssimulation MATSim.

Die Technologieplattform von Via ermöglicht hocheffiziente und flexible On-Demand-Transportsysteme, die eine nahtlose und effiziente Routenplanung, Buchung und Flottenverwaltung ermöglichen.

Der TÜV Rheinland erprobt Methoden für die Prüfbarkeit des Systems, führt alle Tests für die geplante Straßenzulassung durch und unterstützt bei der Kommunikation mit den Genehmigungsbehörden.

5